Personal Legends

What exactly is a Personal Legend? Does everyone achieve it? A Personal Legend is everyone’s final destination. To achieve it, a person needs to change themselves into something that was better than they were before. Everyone can achieve it if they follow the language of the world but some don’t follow it. It’s just like the crystal merchant from the Alchemist, he knew that his Personal Legend was to go to Mecca but he didn’t go because he felt that if he did, he would have to live life with no purpose. He thought that if he accomplished his dream, he would have no other dreams and he would lose all that he had. This is an obstacle that many might face when they are following their Personal Legend. They feel as if they will lose everything they have if they follow their Personal Legend. Although, not achieving your Personal Legend is worse than losing all that you have. Achieving your Personal Legend means that you have accomplished something in your life. It rewards you with more than what you had before accomplishing it. Another misconception about Personal Legends is that they only give you a treasure in the end, but that’s not the case. As mentioned before, achieving your Personal Legend means that you have transformed yourself into a better person. It means that you have gaine  d a lot of knowledge which I think is even more important than the treasure itself because with knowledge, you can get more riches. A very good example of why the knowledge gained from your Personal Legend is more important than the treasure itself is written in an old manuscript. In the Old Testament of the Christian Holy Bible, there is a man named Solomon, King Solomon to be exact. God came to him in a dream and gave Solomon the opportunity to wish for anything he desires.

While most would wish for being rich, Solomon wished for wisdom and knowledge. And from these wishes, wisdom and knowledge, Solomon still ended up being a very rich man because he was knowledgeable about his money. From this, you can see that being rich or having treasure is not as important as the knowledge and experience

gained from one’s Personal Legend. Another thing about Personal Legends is that they are perceived as the kind that Santiago went through in the Alchemist. So in short, far away. People probably see this as an obstacle because they think that to achieve their Personal Legend, they have to go above and beyond. What most miss is that your Personal Legend

does not have to be so far away. In the Alchemist, while Santiago did go through a great journey, his treasure ended up being at the tree from the beginning of the story. This ties to the fact that Personal Legends are not actually so far away. Every one is able to achieve because it is closer than you really think, but many still don’t and end up like the crystal merchant without the fulfillment of something they have achieved. Then again, while the crystal merchant did not fulfill his Personal Legend, he still did help Santiago follow his. The crystal merchant’s story helped Santiago realize that he needed to go. If you do decide to go on your Personal Legend, you will encounter people like the crystal legend and they will help you realize that you need to keep on going. We can also find a mentor kind of person, like the alchemist, to push us in the right direction.

As I said, I think everyone has a Personal Legend but I also think that we also have fate. I personally will not go after my Personal Legend because I follow my fate. I let God lead me through life. I make my own choices in terms of God. For example, if I do this, will God approve? My purpose is to serve God and follow him, not to follow my Personal Legend or the world. He decides my path and he leads me. So don’t think I have a Personal Legend but I think that I have fate. Or maybe fate is my Personal Legend but all I know is that my purpose is to serve God not the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *